a little something for my purse

April 10, 2008 at 9:34 am 1 comment

inside viewpurse catch-allSpring bag

I’ve been carrying a massive, messy combo of coupons (mostly for the fabric store), business cards and scraps of paper in a broken-down date book for the past year. It used to close with an elastic band, many moons ago. I felt like making something for myself yesterday, so I thought I’d whip up a quick little “catch-all” before dinner. I used up my very last little bit of this Etsuko Furuya fabric (Echino), which I adore (I originally used it to make the above bag recently – a Melly & Me pattern). I lined it with some stiff interfacing and a scrap of an Amy Butler print. Oh, it’ll be lovely, I thought. Sometime after dinner, with kids donning plastic weaponry, I attempted to finish it. Three curse words, a broken needle, and several inches of destroyed bias tape later, it’s done. I just could not get the bias tape to look decent, so I switched to this triple-motion stitch (I don’t know what it’s called) to hold all my layers together, which left it looking a bit wonky, but sturdy. I decided snaps would be best to keep it closed, so I hand stitched those on. If anyone reading this has any tips on where to get a decent snap press, I’d love to know…I’ve seen a cheapy one (~$10) at Joann, but don’t know if it works well or not.

And for all that griping I just did, I do like it, and it’s a BIG improvement over the old one.

Entry filed under: sewing. Tags: , , , , , , .

ahhhh a little progress

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. pont des lions  |  May 2, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Tes créations sont vraiment ravissantes… et tu as l’art de marier à merveille les différents tissus. Bravo!
    Laure

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


drop me a line:

robinettehandmade at gmail
robinette handmade. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

RSS My Etsy Shop: robinette

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org
Craft Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
Madsen Cycles Cargo Bikes

