a precious little bit

April 23, 2008 at 10:11 pm Leave a comment

blockprinted cotton tape

I bought this beautiful block printed cotton tape from a very talented artist named jezze, who lives in Cape Town, South Africa. It’s about 1.5 inches (3.8 cm) wide and she sells it by the meter. She also sells it in some different color ways. I bought this to use in my bedroom, but I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it. I’m thinking of trimming a pillow in it…I only have one precious meter of it and don’t want to make the wrong thing with it, you know? Do you ever have a gorgeous little bit of something and then just keep it tucked away for a long while and not use it? Just get it out every once and while and think about what you might do with it? I tend to do that with some of my vintage fabrics that I know are one-of-a-kind, as well as my small stash of Liberty prints. They sit there in stacks and I look at them and cannot imagine what I could make that would warrant cutting into them. Things of this nature usually remain uncut for at least a year. That’s usually sufficient time for me to change my mind several times about what I’m going to make and then gather up the courage to whip out my scissors and go for it. Getting back to the matter at hand, though, I can’t think of what else to use this trim for except a pillow or two…something for my bedroom. If anyone else has any “cutworthy” ideas, I’d love to hear from you!

Entry filed under: sewing. Tags: , , , , , , .

a little progress in bloom

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


drop me a line:

robinettehandmade at gmail
robinette handmade. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

RSS My Etsy Shop: robinette

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org
Craft Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
Madsen Cycles Cargo Bikes

