flea market finds

May 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm 3 comments

On Mother’s Day morning, after a delicious breakfast prepared by my husband, the whole lot of us took a short trip to the local flea market. I wasn’t terribly enthusiastic about it at first, until my husband volunteered to commandeer both boys while I shopped. The thought of taking a fast and wreckless three year old and a begging five year old through narrow, glassware-stacked aisles does not appeal to me. Daddy did a great job of visiting all of the non-breakable-type booths with them (they tried out many riding things and helped him sort through records). It was pouring down rain and we didn’t stay long, but here were a few things I picked up:

Marimekko fabric

The woman I bought this from said it is Marimekko fabric that her mother had sewn into a log holder (it had two wooden dowel handles before I disassembled it). While I can always use a good log holder, I thought I could make it into a bag instead. I can’t find another example of this fabric anywhere on line…it looks like Marimekko to me…but if anyone knows for sure, please let me know. I’d love to know of a resource for finding out about out-of-print vintage textiles, especially Scandinavian.

owl print

I also bought this cute owl linoleum block print from her. It was in a crazy blue-stained oak frame which I’ve since removed. I’m going to re-frame it and hang it in our bedroom.

braided girl silhouetteLastly, I picked up this sweet little silhouette of a braided girl to add to my ever growing collection of silhouettes. She was hidden behind another silhouette I bought that was framed, and I ended up liking this one much more than the one on top.

Entry filed under: family, home, sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

first birthday afterschool project

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave Cruse  |  May 15, 2008 at 10:33 am

    The owl looks like the Tootsie Pop Owl.

    Reply
  • 2. Becky  |  February 13, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I also love Marimekko Fabrics and have just found a Web Site with the most fabulous range of Marimekko Fabric Wall Hangings which I would like to share with you.

    http://www.wallartsuk.com

    Reply
  • 3. Ani  |  May 21, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Hello!
    You have found the cutest owl I’ve ever seen!
    Would you mind sending me a larger photo so I can print it.
    I’d appreciate it so much!
    Regards Ani
    nero@ilmaofsweden.se

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


drop me a line:

robinettehandmade at gmail
robinette handmade. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

RSS My Etsy Shop: robinette

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org
Craft Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
Madsen Cycles Cargo Bikes

