afterschool project

May 19, 2008 at 7:50 am Leave a comment

Henry and I tackled a (relatively) quick project last week after school. After seeing it done in several different places online, we decided to try it ourselves. It was very simple, really: Mod Podge, paper, Mod Podge again. I let Henry go through a couple of falling-apart old books I had with interesting animal plates in them. After choosing a few, I cut them to size. Henry painted the front of each drawer with the Mod Podge, I stuck the paper on, then he put a second coat over the top. I think it maybe took an hour and he was very happy with the result. They hold all of his “homework” supplies, which he has carefully chosen: pens and paper, an old anatomy coloring book of mine from college, Peterson Field Guide to Birds, a penmanship dry-erase notebook, and various trading cards. I’m not sure where he’s come up with the concept of homework (he’s five), but he’s very excited about it.

papered ikea drawers

Entry filed under: crafting, home. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

flea market finds inspiration

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


drop me a line:

robinettehandmade at gmail
robinette handmade. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

RSS My Etsy Shop: robinette

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org
Craft Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
Madsen Cycles Cargo Bikes

